NFF elects new board

By: Col Jackson

Presented by

Peak farming body National Farmers Federation (NFF) has elected a new board at its AGM on Monday which saw Queensland sheep and wool grower Brent Finlay step up to the President’s plate.

NFF elects new board
Newly elected NFF President Brent Finlay

Finlay is the 12th president of NFF, taking the reins from outgoing President Duncan Fraser.

Finlay has more than 25 years of experience in agriculture though his family’s farming business and has served in several representative roles over the years such as WoolProducers Australia Senior Vice President in 2008, AgForce President in 2010, NFF Vice President in 2013 and now the top job.

At the NFF AGM and Member’s Council meeting in Canberra, where the new committee was elected, Finlay paid tribute to immediate past president Duncan Fraser for his contributions during his time in office.

"Mr Fraser has been a passionate advocate for the agricultural sector for some 27 years, and has led NFF for the past seven months, through a tumultuous period in federal politics that has seen three agriculture ministers and three Prime Ministers hold their respective offices," he says.

"I thank Mr Fraser for his dedicated service to the NFF and to Australian farmers."

Finlay adds he looks forward to being a strong voice for the farming sector moving forward and help address the many issues currently facing the agriculture industry.

"Now, as we enter a period of, we hope, relative political stability, it is time to get the focus away from politics and back onto policy – and to drive forward the outcomes that our farmers need from Government."

The meeting also saw Queensland beef producer Christine Rolfe appointed as vice-president. In addition to her new role, Rolfe is also vice president/treasurer of AgForce Queensland, and has also served as state councillor, vice president and regional president for AgForce Central Queensland.

Two new Board Directors have also been elected: Victorian Farmers’ Federation Vice-President David Jochinke and Ricegrowers’ Association of Australia President Les Gordon.

Three former NFF Board Directors have been re-appointed to their positions: NSW Farmers’ Association President Fiona Simson, Victorian Farmers’ Federation President Peter Tuohey and AgForce Queensland President Ian Burnett.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive the Trade Farm Machinery e-newsletter, digital magazine and other offers we choose to share with you straight to your inbox

You can also follow our updates by liking us on Facebook


Graders For Hire | Cranes For Hire | Telehandlers For Hire | Excavators For Hire