Fair work seminars for QLD farmers

Presented by

Queensland farmers are welcome to attend regional Fair Work compliance seminars. Queensland farmers are welcome to attend regional Fair Work compliance seminars. Queensland farmers are welcome to attend regional Fair Work compliance seminars.

Free seminars to help farmers comply with employment laws are to be held in various regional Queensland locations, starting in Goondiwindi this month and ending in Kingaroy in March 2017.


TEM-Buy Now Button
TEM-Compare Specs Button



The free seminars are being hosted by the Queensland Agricultural Workforce Network (QAWN), which says increased funding and activity of the Fair Work Ombudsman (FWO) means that employers are more likely to be inspected or audited.

"Targeted campaigns are exposing non-compliance across the board," a QAWN spokesperson says.

"In serious cases, high profile prosecutions lead to large fines and media exposure, so it’s vital to get it right."

Australia has a highly regulated framework of workplace relations with complex laws, regulations and standards that must be met by every employer, according to QAWN.

"The Fair Work Ombudsman (FWO) has high expectations that business owners who employ staff ensure they do so in line with the laws.  The laws do not distinguish or discriminate between small or large workforces, casual or permanent employment, or whether workers are Australian or from overseas."

The focus will be onwhat Fair Work inspectors are looking for, explaining your legal obligations under the Fair Work Act, the importance of record keeping and having all the correct employee paperwork on hand.

Correct employee performance management and termination procedures will also be covered, as well as strategies to minimise the risk of claims against you as an employer.

During the half-day seminar farmers will undergo a risk assessment to test their business against the legal requirements.


Dates & Locations:

Goondiwindi – Wednesday, September 14

Lockyer Valley – Wednesday, October 5

Mareeba – Wednesday, October 12

South Johnstone – Thursday, October 13

Bundaberg – Thursday, October 27

Bowen – Wednesday, November 9

Charters Towers – Friday, November 11

Gympie – Thursday, November 17

Glass House Mountains – Friday, November 18

Mackay – Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Yeppoon – Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Emerald – Wednesday, February 15, 2017

St George – Wednesday, March 1, 2017

Kingaroy – Wednesday, March 15, 2017

 

Anyone interested in attending can register online at: www.growcom.com.au

You can also follow our updates by liking us on Facebook